top of page

Burglar and burglar retardant glazing

The operation and the different types

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Burglar-proof glazing is a new form of protection designed to slow down attempted breaches, in particular by increasing its resistance. It is made up of many sheets of glass arranged in a mille-feuille. In the event of accidental glass breakage, the glass shards remain in their place and do not scatter, significantly reducing the risk of injury. In the event of an attempted break-in, the burglar-proof glazing delays the entry of burglars long enough to make it fail.


Burglar-resistant glazing is classified into categories according to their level of impact resistance. The categories are established as follows: P1 A, P2 A, P3 A, P4 A and P5 A. Glazing in category P1 A is the least resistant, they only withstand jets from medium and small objects. This resistance increases with each rise in the rest of the classification.

Delayed or burglar-proof glazing can be fitted in double glazing.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The advantages and disadvantages of burglar-proof glazing

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The main advantage of burglar-proof glazing, which is also their raison d'être; is their ability to delay break-ins. If the average duration of a break-in is 3 minutes, you should know that with a simple glass, this duration drops to 30 seconds while with a burglar-proof glazing it drops to 6 minutes. This is generally more than enough to intervene, or to make doubt the burglar whose greatest fear is to be caught in action.

Their second advantage lies in their ability to fight against noise pollution.

Burglar-proof glazing can also be used as acoustic protection, in particular by limiting the propagation of exterior noise. In addition, the burglar-proof glazing stops 100% of the entry of ultraviolet rays from the sun.

In terms of the disadvantages of burglar-proof glazing, one of the few that we know of is that in the event of a fire, it will be more difficult to break.

The range of glazing is segmented according to the level of performance and its use:
- protection against injury
- protection against falling people
- protection against falling objects
- protection against vandalism and burglary
- reinforced protection
- protection against gunfire
- explosion protection.

Standard EN 356 defines eight performance classes based on tests representing the ability of glazing to resist throwing objects (level 1) or attempted break-in using a sledgehammer or an ax ( level 2).

The performance of the laminates varies depending on the temperature.

Standard classification EN 356
Level 1
Corresponds to the ability of glazing to resist throwing objects.
The 4.1 kg ball drop test is satisfied if 3 test pieces resist penetration (3 triangle impacts).


Level 2
Corresponds to break-in attempts using a sledgehammer or an ax to create a 40 x 40 opening, called a "manway". The number of impacts necessary for its realization determines the class of the glazing.

bottom of page